melt bar and grilled.

Melt Bar and Grilled is phenomenal.  No doubt about that.  Gourmet giant grilled cheese sandwiches bigger than your head with crazy concoctions?!  Yes, please! Quirky decorations and an awesome laid back staff?! My favorite!

I ventured out to their Independence location the other night because their monthly special “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Melt” sounded great.

First, we started with their fried mozzarella wedges.  These things are awesome.  Extra crispy outside, gooey, cheesy middle.  Everything a fried mozzarella triangle should be.  You get a choice of two dips, marinara or tomato chipotle jam.  It’s hard to pick which is my favorite.  The chipotle jam is similar to a sweet salsa with a kick.  I’m not usually into sweet salsas but I love this stuff.

Tip:  Sit at the bar between 3-7pm (Mon-Thurs) and you get 25% off your appetizers plus $1 off any beer.  I love saving money, and if it means I have to sit with horrible posture on a bar stool to do it, well… I will!

So since we ate an appetizer and their sandwiches are HUGE with a GIANT side of fries, we decided to split the sandwich.  Another tip:  If you tell your server you are splitting the sandwich, they will split the sandwich and fries on to 2 plates for you!

So, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Melt has pesto sauce, basil marinara, herb cream cheese, provolone and romano cheese, and deep fried pizza rolls all inside!

IMG_3252

This hard to hold onto, it’s definitely a sandwich where you pick it up and don’t set it down at all, you just cram every last bite inside your mouth until your hands are a goopy mess, then you clean up your hands and face because in the end… you are a lady! Run on sentences are cool.

The herb cream cheese was falling out every side of the sandwich with every bite. It was definitely the dominant taste of the sandwich. Which, was a little saddening. I assumed with the title this would have more of a pizza taste. It also only had 5 pizza rolls across the entire thing (2 on my half), and that was the ingredient I was most excited about! This sandwich was delicious, just not the taste I was expecting going into it all.

Our server had asked if I wanted to add meatballs to the sandwich and in the end, I wish I would have! Tip: always do what the server suggests!

If you’ve never been to Melt… Your body is missing out on so much! I’m actually planning a return visit in 2 weeks for the 6 degrees of Kevin bacon melt!! Best sandwich of the year!

 

Leave a Reply

