slyman’s.

This corned beef sandwich is bigger than your face.  No joke.

IMG_3272I took a half day from work the other day for no better reason than I wanted this corned beef sandwich.  I left work, picked up my cousin and headed downtown to Slyman’s.  Located on the corner of St. Clair and E 31st, with plenty of street parking and a large free lot to park in, it’s a super easy find.

We both ordered a reuben and shared a plate of gravy fries.  The sandwich is amazing.  The corned beef is juicy, tender and full of flavor.  The fact that it was a reuben goes almost unnoticed since the ratio of cheese and sauerkraut to meat is way off, but I am ok with this.  I mostly order the reuben instead of the plain corned beef sandwich because I like the grilled bread.  I guess that I could ask for it that way, but I don’t like asking for special orders at busy places.

You get to add your own thousand island dressing to your sandwich from a squirt bottle that every table comes equipped with.  I love this part.  I like a lot of sauce on everything and hate sounding like a heffer when I ask for extra x 4.

I can’t even come close to eating the whole thing so I pull off about 60% of the meat and save it for home.  Corned beef hash for breakfast??!  OKAY, if I must!  So dramatic.

The gravy fries were out of this world.  Could I pack anymore salt into one meal?  Probably not!  Don’t judge.  You should do the same.  The gravy was beefy and perfect.  I don’t eat gravy fries often, but these were probably the best I’ve had in a long time.

With only breakfast and lunch hours, I foresee myself taking another half day in the future!  You should too.

Leave a Reply

